The Rothschild Foundation is sad to announce the death of its Chairman, Lord Rothschild, businessman, entrepreneur, philanthropist and cultural leader, who made a profound difference to many areas of British life.

He led, amongst other institutions, the National Gallery, the National Lottery Heritage Fund and the family’s flagship, Waddesdon Manor. He supported many causes, some close to his home in Buckinghamshire, others as far afield as Israel, Albania, Greece and the United States. He was committed to helping communities, the environment, education and above all, the arts. His exemplary service to his country was recognised on several occasions, with a GBE, a CVO and as a member of the Order of Merit.

Jacob Rothschild was an extraordinary person, and his loss will be felt by many. The family is committed to continuing his legacy and the foundation which he loved and endowed. His daughter Hannah assumes the role of Chair of the Rothschild Foundation.

We will all be inspired by his vision, ambition, and his commitment to excellence.

WHAT'S ON

All Events
Wine Cellars at Waddesdon

Gin Tasting

Sat 9 – Sun 10 Mar

Dad and son doing Easter trail

Easter Adventures at Waddesdon

Easter trail runs Wed 27 Mar – Sun 14 Apr
(closed Tue 2 Apr, Mon 8 Apr & Tue 9 Apr)

 

 

Forever Flowers with Florence Nightingale Hospice Charity

Wed 17 Apr – Sun 28 April (closed Mon 22 & Tue 23 Apr)

Illyria Theatre - The Gondoliers

Thu 15 August 2024
Gates open 5.30pm
Showtime 6:30pm – 8:20pm

Chilli Fest

Fri 30 Aug – Sun 1 Sept 2024

Christmas at Waddesdon

15 Nov – 5 Jan 2025, Wed – Sun
(excludes 23-26 Dec)
Christmas Market runs from 15 Nov – 22 Dec, Wed-Sun