The Rothschild Foundation is sad to announce the death of its Chairman, Lord Rothschild, businessman, entrepreneur, philanthropist and cultural leader, who made a profound difference to many areas of British life.

He led, amongst other institutions, the National Gallery, the National Lottery Heritage Fund and the family’s flagship, Waddesdon Manor. He supported many causes, some close to his home in Buckinghamshire, others as far afield as Israel, Albania, Greece and the United States. He was committed to helping communities, the environment, education and above all, the arts. His exemplary service to his country was recognised on several occasions, with a GBE, a CVO and as a member of the Order of Merit.

Jacob Rothschild was an extraordinary person, and his loss will be felt by many. The family is committed to continuing his legacy and the foundation which he loved and endowed. His daughter Hannah assumes the role of Chair of the Rothschild Foundation.

We will all be inspired by his vision, ambition, and his commitment to excellence.

Share:

About us

Contact us

Find out who to contact at Waddesdon about your enquiry and how.

Our address
Waddesdon Manor
Waddesdon
Aylesbury
Buckinghamshire
HP18 0JH
United Kingdom

Your visit

Ticket or visit enquiries
enquiries@waddesdon.org.uk
01296 820 414
Our phone lines are open Tue-Sat, 10am-4pm.

Queries about bookings made online
enquiries@waddesdon.org.uk

Comments and feedback
feedback@waddesdon.org.uk

Retail and hospitality

Private Wine sales
Email: peter.tompkins@waddesdonwine.co.uk
Telephone 01296 653 238

Gift Shop
Email: Nicola.mertens@waddesdon.org.uk
Telephone 01296 653 261

Weddings at Waddesdon
Telephone 01296 653241 or email: entertaining@waddesdon.org.uk

Five Arrows Hotel
Telephone 01296 651727 or email: reservations@fivearrowshotel.co.uk

Corporate entertaining
Email: entertaining@waddesdon.org.uk

Waddesdon Wine Company
Katie Murray, telephone: 01296 653318 or email katie.murray@waddesdon.org.uk

Collection and gardens

Collections administration
Jacquie Horrocks , email: jacquie.horrocks@waddesdon.org.uk

Garden administration
Sarah Bateman, telephone: 01296 653324 or email: sarah.bateman@waddesdon.org.uk

Aviary administration

Telephone: 01296 653286 or email: aviary@waddesdon.org.uk

Waddesdon Estate Office
For enquiries about renting properties on the Estate.
Michelle Foreman, Telephone: 01296 653410 or email: mforeman@waddesdonestates.co.uk

Marketing

Press & Media
Telephone 01296 653231 or email: press@waddesdon.org.uk

Filming and photography
Marie Stewart telephone 01296 653320 or email: marie.stewart@waddesdon.org.uk

Advertising 
Total Media, telephone 01564 741700

Other contacts

Head of Learning
Sarah Dewberry, telephone: 01296 653262 or email: sarah.dewberry@waddesdon.org.uk

Head of Public Events
Marie Stewart, telephone: 01296 653230 or email: marie.stewart@waddesdon.org.uk

Volunteering Manager
Megan Fletcher, telephone: 01296 653312 or email: megan.fletcher@waddesdon.org.uk

HR 
Katie Smith, telephone: 01296 653258 or email: HR@waddesdon.org.uk
Sheena Cox, telephone: 01296 653292

Join our email list

subscribe today